Daily blogging (writing) is not easy.

One of my favorite childhood authors claimed “You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children ~ Madeline L’Engle.

I love the following quote:

“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song”. ~ Maya Angelou

I want to keep cutting and pasting quotes that are inspiring and unrepeatable. Is unrepeatable that  a word?

So many before me and along side me are writing and reading. I alternate between reading fantasy fiction and truth, and find them both beguiling, compelling, and satisfying. The fantasy stuff is wonderful. I leave my reality completely (The Golden Compass, Twilight, Game of Thrones) and I will not apologize for doing so. The real stuff – because most fiction is based in reality, right? – tends to hit me a bit harder.

My most recent reads include a book about a man with Asperger syndrome who falls in love, a woman who left the Amish to live a non-plain dress life, and a (children’s) story about a fish whose dreary, sad attitude impacts those in the sea world around him. My oldest son is just at the age (I think) when if he suggests being bored, I suggest a book. He’s not a full reader yet, but he’s close. He enjoys books, but the physical world is more compelling right now. He will cartwheel, somersault, and downward dog at your request. He is not the fastest runner in his class, but he enjoys running, ninja-style. I love introducing books to him one by one. His teacher is reading the class “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” this month. We watched the movie to celebrate the story over the weekend. Love.

All this said, I confess I am procrastinating. I have a deadline on the 18th of this month to submit to a magazine and one in December to submit for a writing fellowship. I should stop blogging about the works that inform and inspire me and get to work.

That said, I’ll leave you with a few lovely quotes by writers that inspire me.

You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write. ~ Saul Bellow

Research is formalized curiosity. It is poking and prying with a purpose. It is a seeking that he who wishes may know the cosmic secrets of the world and they that dwell therein. ~ Zora Neale Hurston

Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong words. ~ Mark Twain
The first sentence can’t be written until the final sentence is written. ~Joyce Carol Oates, WD
I almost always urge people to write in the first person. … Writing is an act of ego and you might as well admit it. ~ William Zinsser
 tumblr_static_writing450
Credit to the Writing Fortress for the photo.

X, Y and Z

8 thoughts on “X, Y and Z

  1. shreejacob says:

    Love the quotes!
    All the best in your writing assignments! I “do” procrastination really well too 😉 hehe

  2. Yes! I am completely procrastinating at the moment with all the writing deadlines I have. Thank you so much for writing this. I just posted something very similar to my blog, may be it’s something in the air?!

  3. Mom says:

    Loved this one. Keep it up. Think about publishing….

  4. Melissa says:

    I love quotes! They are just so much fun to draw to you and hold and to savor in your mind and think about. They are just little hidden gems. And they exist on everything.

  5. Hi are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the
    blog world but I’m trying to get started and set
    up my own. Do youu need any coding expertise to make your own blog?

    Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

