Choices

Day 11 and I skipped blogging yesterday. Too busy! Yesterday was dry, windy, sun-glorious – much like today. Our weekend has included four parks, one birthday party, one good-bye dinner with dear friends who are moving soon, one dinner out with girlfriends, two days with out-of-town friends and their delicious baby boy, one trip to IKEA, one four-miler, three pizzas, two swimming lessons, and one hard cider. And one nap for at least one member of the family (not me).

Looking backward, it’s been a wonderful few days. They say old friends are the best friends, and I think that’s true. But new friends can also be pretty special, and soon enough they turn into old friends. Looking ahead, there is much to look forward to. My father will be home safe and sound from the Philippines, where though he remained safe throughout the storm, he experienced the loss from a distance much closer than those of us reading reports from across the ocean. It is said that the loss of life and property could have been far worse had not emergency and evacuation plans been put into place. Some ten thousand people died in the Philippines during the past few days. This is a better outcome than had tens of thousands of men, women and children perished in the storm.

But still. My heart goes out to the families who weren’t among the lucky ones. To them, the loss is infinitely terrible, the forever silencing of their loved one.

I feel hope for me and my own as we look toward the days ahead, gratitude that my family is safe, and respect for the truth that is we have so little control over so much. Instead of control, we have choices. Choices to make and promises to keep, break or modify. I am constantly reminding my children of their choices – mostly good or bad – at this point there are fewer shades of gray in their world. For those of us older than six, however, our choices may be subtle in their goodness or lack of goodness.

Maya Angelou said, “Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”

Ms. Angelou’s wise and simple words resonate deeply with me. I don’t always do better even though I know better, but I’ve forgiven myself for not living up to a standard for which I don’t have the knowledge yet. It’s a start.

Entering the week on a day in which we honor and reflect on the courageous men and women who serve, served or will serve our country, I’ll end this post on a gentle note. May we all make the best choices that we are able, appreciate the goodness of those around us, and forever remember those whom we have lost, for they made our lives more beautiful and loved us deeply.

wpid-IMAG0038.jpg

3 thoughts on “Choices

  1. kepadilla says:

    Beautiful Sara. Thank you…….

  2. shreejacob says:

    Glad your dad is safe 🙂
    Choices….we make them every single moment in life…don’t we? Yet..so many of the choices we make we aren’t even aware of! Good post! Enjoyed it 🙂

  3. Melissa says:

    I have heard “When you know better, do better” so many times in the recent year-2 years ish, but I had no idea it was part of something Maya Angelou said. Makes it all the more special knowing the full context.

Leave a Reply

