Wings of love

In the spirit of daily blogging for the month of November on a day when I really don’t feel like writing, I am sharing a poem that was written in memory of my sister and read at her memorial service on June 13, 2005 (I did not write it). Today has been a jumble of ideas and emotions. They have been energizing, painful, touching, frustrating, inspiring and humbling, and it feels right to let them stay tucked inside for the moment.

WINGS OF LOVE

Where no trees wither nor boundaries grow
Behold ! There is an angel there below
Like lily among thorns, yea! The rainbows of the sky
Her Wings of love have spread on high.
A heart of gold, so tender and sweet
The sharing of love with no retreat
A thousand words cannot express
Such kind and loving thoughtfulness.
Oh! Wings of love yea! Feather of hope
How great a loss, so hard to cope
As light is to sun, and day is to dawn
Memories of you forever will live on.

calla lily

12 thoughts on “Wings of love

  1. shreejacob says:

    Oo..hello! Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting too 🙂
    It’s a beautiful poem and a lovely tribute to your sister.
    Though it’s been 8 years since, I’d like to say that I’m sorry for you loss.
    Hope your jumble of emotions and ideas settle down as much as you need them to 🙂 I’ll follow you so I can catch up on your blogs!
    Take care!

  2. Melissa says:

    What a beautiful poem. I can tell that you miss your sister deeply but I don’t know if I know the right words to say. What do you say? Nothing seems right, nothing can take away that pain of losing someone so close.

  3. iasoupmama says:

    Hi, Sara — welcome to Yea Write! I’m a rowmie from the NaBloPoMo grid. I found this poem to be delicate and lovely and completely heartbreaking — I’m so sorry for your loss.

  4. Beth Ann says:

    Hey Sara, I am a “column mate” from YeahWrite! What a lovely tribute poem for your sister. I can not even begin to imagine the range of emotions that you feel over the death of a sister. The poem was simply beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  5. David Padilla says:

    Sara, I suggest you tell about the author of this poem and what inspired it. Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

