Do your little bit of good

Hey readers. Some of you have expressed concern that I’ve been sick, tired and in pain over the past few months. Those things are unfortunately true. I’m definitely not 100%, but I’m okay. Mentally I’m better than okay, physically I’m less so, and right now I just want to write a little about some not so serious stuff. Before I post the links, however, I’d like to note that I spent last night with a girlfriend in Seattle by myself. This truth alone is marvelous. The three hour drive to her home was peaceful. I got to listen to my music on the radio, drink coffee, and not glance at the back seat once.

Before heading out, I received at least a dozen sweet hugs and kisses from my boys. Tired and filled with love, I said good bye to Portland and hello to Seattle.

After an evening replete with meaningful conversation, good food and a heart-warming chick flick, I returned home to the three men in my life. My lower back screamed at me after three hours in the car, but I was determined not to complain or turn cranky as the sun faded and leaves scattered across the lawn. My husband assembled dinner, and I read books and made sure both boys were clean and brushed. After tucking them into bed, I checked e-mail and Facebook and then unexpectedly ordered a gorgeous pair of dark brown leather boots.

I do shop online, but rarely for myself, and I’m still pleased by my decision (free shipping!). I got a little carried away, though, and I discovered a whole bunch of stuff that makes me want to keep my credit card at the ready. I wisely paused, but I thought I’d share a few of my favorite finds with you in case you want to do some online shopping.

For starters, check out this poster. Its message is simple and true. I came across it purely by accident, and it reminded me of when I wrote THIS.

Reminded by my own words, I felt like finding out what other awesome, fun, soul-affirming, and just plain silly stuff is out there. The holidays are around the corner, and my sister and I have been sending kid-gift-ideas over e-mail the past few days. Here are a few wonderful discoveries that you may consider gifting your loved ones. Or a Stranger. Or Yourself.

Enjoy.

Game of Thrones Lego set!

Soup and cracker mug.

These posters would be a fantastic gift for one or several of your favorite kids.

Because It is going to start raining soon.

This one’s for my husband.

And for my boys I might wear these. Once.

They would also love this stunning viking ship bed, in case I ever have an extra $15,000 burning a hole in my pocket.

These are very sweet socks.

The Book of Awakening: Having the Life You Want by Being Present to the Life You Have. I need to read this.

I’ll stop there, and will amuse myself by finding out tomorrow how many readers actually click on these links. My intentions for the week ahead are to rest well, embrace movement, focus on writing and keep kindness at the forefront.

Good night, readers.

Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world.
―     Desmond Tutu

14 thoughts on “Do your little bit of good

  1. Gretchen says:

    Ha ha, Sara, I clicked on the links, but what I want to see are your gorgeous boots!!! Glad you had a nice trip up to Seattle and look forward to seeing you soon! Gretchen

  2. Kate Swanson says:

    It sure is fun to look at all the wonderful things out there. I live in northern Wisconsin and when I visit Portland I’m always filled with “stuff lust” because there are truly so many amazing, beautiful items in a big city. Hope you’re feeling better. Back problems are the worst!

  3. Jill Rodeffer says:

    I loved clicking on the links! 🙂 I actually started wishlists for Christmas on my Pinterest account, because I can’t stand just buying to buy at the holidays (and I can never remember that there are actually things that I’d love to have when people ask). Sounds like you had a great trip to Seattle. That’s a city that’s on my bucket list of places to visit! We missed having a “family reunion” this weekend in Williamsburg…glad to get a chance to read up on how you’re doing!

    • skpadilla says:

      Thanks, Jill! Seattle is a wonderful city. I’d love to see you and Wendy again next time we find ourselves in the same place… it’s amazing how fast the years go by. Love keeping up with you and your beautiful family via Facebook.

  4. dpadilla44@aol.com says:

    Good column, Sarah. Light and chatty. I’m glad you had a nice visit with Gretchen. And it’s great of Andrew to give you some space. Not all souses, especially ones with little (monsters) kids.I couldn’t get to any of your links but I don’t care cuz I already have enough junk and really don’t care about shopping, on-line or otherwise.

    Right now I’m camped out at home getting ready to eat my roast chicken (lechon manok) purchased at a roadside rotisserie. This follows my one mile swim.

    Tomorrow I finally send the boys their post cards. I’ll be there before they arrive. I also have some cheesy local stuff for the kids. Nothing as cool as boots bought on line.

    Love, Dad

  5. Selena says:

    Ah, Amazon. The great distraction. Be well!

  6. nichola says:

    Hi Sarah. Nice to see you at New Deal the other day. Sorry I didn’t take a moment to ask how YOU were doing before blabbing on and on about this and that in my life. Another book to consider reading (beware, it’s a little – actually a lot – “woo woo”): Polishing the Mirror by Ram Das. Take care girlfriend!!
    xoxo Nichola

  7. paralaxvu says:

    So I spent at least a half-hour (OK, more like an hour-and-a-half) on Amazon because of you–had to follow the items to their sources and, of course, there were more items on those pages. I want the bed (who says a 68-year-old woman doesn’t wanna be a pirate? Avast, ye landlubbers! ). Of course, I’d have to find the chest of gold to pay for it. The reviews about the soup-and-cracker mug were almost as interesting as the item itself. Thinking of getting a couple of those for me and my partner. And maybe my sister and her hubby. The posters are cool, but I have no wall room left ;-( I wish they had those knee socks when I was a girl in high school…of course, I’m not sure if Father Hoey would have let me wear them with my black school uniform. Ask your mom–He didn’t have much of a sense of humor. I downloaded the Book of Awakening to my Kindle, for me, thank you very much. I look forward to delving into this later today, because it’s raining outside and I don’t plan on going out for anything other than to check on my tillandias–no umbrella needed. I’ve always liked going out in the rain unprotected–still hoping the water will shrink me a bit, since osteoporosis does not run in my family. However, tallness is good for getting things off the top shelf in the supermarket.) I didn’t check out the whatever for your husband because I’ve already gotten my partner’s Xmas gift and didn’t want to be tempted further. I also didn’t check out what you might wear for your boys just once. I’ll keep my images to myself on that one 😉 So once again, Dear Sara, you’ve beguiled me by your writing, revealing yourself more and more, to my delight. Sorry this turned into its own little post!

Leave a Reply

