Maple tree

I’ve been reading so many words. Heartbreak and running and terrorism and sadness and fear and anger and amputees. I’m taken back to the moment when I felt compelled to write about Sandy Hook. Last summer I wrote about Aurora. I pick up any newspaper and must consider the horrors that continually confront women in India, children in Palestine, youth in Haiti.

More words: tsunamis and hurricanes and landslides and oil spills and rape and judgement and kindergarten and tragedy.

Sometimes there are just too many words and my mind is heavy with newsprint and websites and death.

Too many incomprehensible and appalling words bring us to our knees.

When will humanity be compelled to become humane?

And then I read this.

“here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud and the sky of the sky of a tree called life”

–e.e. cummings, i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

Nearly six years ago we planted a young maple tree in our front yard to welcome our baby boy into our lives and our world. Each spring its leaves unfurl gently and remind us of new life, and in the fall they are crimson and spectacular. My sister’s ashes nurture the earth at the base of the tree.

Greeter of angels, she welcomed an eight-year-old boy yesterday.

Words, light of my life, my children, my friends, the trees and the sky and the earth affirm life even as we are faced with unspeakable loss.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Image

2 thoughts on “Maple tree

  1. Susan Housholder says:

    Beautiful, as always, Sara !

  2. […] thought about the knees and ankles and lives blasted away in Boston just weeks ago and my heart sank a bit, humbled by the terrible, trying aftermath as we humans just […]

Leave a Reply

