We Three Kings

Kids. Parents. Work. Wine. Meals. House. Holidays. Dog. Travel. Winter.

Repeat.

Especially Repeat Kids, and mine are Boys, and I don’t care what parents of daughters claim (mine included) – the truth is that the male species possesses a level of energy quite unique unto itself.

And I’m not convinced that is a good thing.

I haven’t found much time or space to capture in words what’s happened over the past few weeks.

They have been mostly good, but I am Tired.

I am ready for a few days of renewal, and this week they will include work and travel but no kids and no house. So practically a vacation, except for the getting-ready-to-go-and-leave part. And the work part, but in many ways the work is invigorating and it has given me a new sense of optimism for the months ahead.  My new daily meditation book is tucked beside my bed (thank you, Sister), and I will attempt, again, to find the quiet that I crave, either at home, on the road, or elsewhere, this year.

Today many [Catholic] people around the world celebrate Epiphany, or el Día de Reyes.This is the day when the Three Kings officially arrived to greet the baby Jesus and offer him Gifts. The Magi, or Wise Men, reportedly arrived from “the East” to visit the baby, and brought gold, frankincense, and myrrh. The three men are said to have studied the stars in great detail and gained an international reputation for astrology, which at that time was regarded as a science.

I didn’t actually know what myrrh was until tonight when I looked it up. It’s a resin from a tree, and can be polished to form a glossy sort of bead. It is also used in Chinese and Ayurvedic medicine.

Dia de Reyes remains an important holiday in Mexico, but it is one I have never had occasion to celebrate. Still, our eldest is named after Reyes – his great-great-grandfather – and so we told him about the day. Taking it in stride, he reflected on all for which he is thankful for tonight, and he said:

I’m thankful for this great fire in the fireplace and me with my snack that is a banana and my brother’s snack that is leftover hot dog from dinner and my dad having a snack and my mom with something to drink and that we’re all calm and cozy and happy“. Or something like that. His words made everyone smile.

Wishing each of my readers a most happy and healthy 2013.

playa2012

maxdec2012milesdec2012driftwoodmanzanita
eveningplaya

One thought on “We Three Kings

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Wishing you a very happy and fulfilling 2013. May you find the peace that you crave! having had 5 kids of my own, and been a working mother I understand perfectly.

Leave a Reply

