La luna bella (the beautiful moon)

There are so many questions I simply can’t answer.

Exhibit A: “Mom, why is the moon out during the daytime? And why is it following us?”

My response was evidently so unhelpful that he followed up with a “I guess we really need to speak to a scientist.”

Yes, we do. Know any?

I have doctor friends, lawyer friends, teacher friends, development friends, traveling friends, nursing friends and writing friends. I have engineering friends even though I still don’t fully understand what engineering is (shout out to my engineering cousins and other family members). I have friends who work in sales, build houses, take pictures, and even one who paints these amazing portraits that look too real to be believed. I’ve got friends who run and fish and track and vision and teach yoga and take care of children. The latter help children to become small human beings who are full of laughter and learning and love.

But no scientist friends. I don’t think. I guess doctors count but I don’t think they are trained in Moon Studies. If you’re reading this and you happen to be a scientist or if you are particularly well versed in all things lunar, please leave a comment that I can share with my five-year-old.

Consider responding to the following questions.

1) Why can we sometimes see the moon in the daytime?

2) Why do they call the moon a harvest moon? Is this the same as the corn moon?

3) What is a blue moon?

4) Why does the moon appear to follow us as we move?

and

5) How come some planets have one moon (Like Ours) and others get more than one?

Ever yours, gratefully, because at least they are moon-questions and not yet sex-questions, from the mom of a kid-who-can’t-stop-exploring-his-world.

Photo credit to http://krissyallori.com/blog/tag/beaverton-oregon-photography/.

3 thoughts on “La luna bella (the beautiful moon)

  1. Gretchen says:

    A trip to the library for moon books or a search on the web together always help this kind of inquiry! And will create a zillion more questions — ah, the dangers of information 🙂
    xxoo.

    Facts About the Moon for Kids (Woodlands Junior School) (Q2 and Q3)
    http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/time/moon/facts.htm
    A great page targeted at kids all about OUR moon

    The Solar System (Scholastic) (Q5)
    http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/article/solar-system-0
    Article from Scholatic

    KidsGen:Tell Me Why (Q4)
    http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/article/solar-system-0

    Look for a daytime Moon (EarthSky) (Q1)
    http://earthsky.org/tonight/look-for-daytime-moon-each-morning-this-week
    I’d never heard a daytime moon called a Children’s Moon, but I love it!

  2. dpadilla44@aol.com says:

    I think I might be a scientist. Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

