Lost in a book

I often get lost in a book. These are a few of my recently discovered (or re-discovered) favorites.

The Magicians (2009)

by Lev Grossman

This stunning story explores urban fantasy, the depression and passion of late adolescence and a wild cast of characters who are learning to be real life magicians. One of the absolute best pieces of fiction I’ve read in years.

Traveling Mercies (1999)

by Anne Lamott

Ms. Lamott’s observations are both hilarious and heartbreaking. She admits there is mystery behind her faith. She is a woman first, a mother next, and a healer and writer last, but not least. This was a re-read, and I think I enjoyed it more the second time around.

Cemetery Girl (2011)

by David Bell

This is a hopelessly easy read, meant to be tucked in a beach bag. But it’s also well written and thought-provoking. The teenager at the heart of the story is equal parts frustrating and sympathetic.

Train Like A  Mother (2012)

by Dimity McDowell and Sarah Bowen Shea

The sequel to the authors’ Run Like A Mother focuses on training for races of all distances while juggling jobs, kids and more. It’s an entertaining, informative read that I found impossible to put down on a five-hour flight. The last page left me contemplating all sorts of new running opportunities, and motivated to train despite sleepless nights and too much laundry to ever, ever manage to get done (and put away).

The act of reading offers escape, inspiration and temptation. I stay up too late reading, night after night, because I am always amazed at the ability of words on a page to come together in such a way that makes me cry, sigh or smile. As tragedy strikes, I might pause, as I contemplate my own experience with tragedy. As characters find love, I relax, eased by their joy. As a novel takes an unexpected turn, I am filled with the belief that my own life can turn, too, and one doesn’t truly know what’s around the corner. How refreshing.

What are your favorite summer reads?

Tell me what you’re taking to the beach next month or what kept you up all night reading last week.

2 thoughts on “Lost in a book

  1. paralaxvu says:

    Thanks for the three more books I now have to find time to read…however, the only “train” books I read are about those that run on tracks and go from city to city and…wait a minute, that could define both the kind you like AND the kind I like, huh? 😉

  2. Gretchen says:

    I just read and absolutely loved Wild by Cheryl Strayed. Best book I’ve read in a long, long time.

Leave a Reply

