Mighty machines

Saturday was awesome for the oldest boy and less awesome for the youngest, but still pretty great. We attended Dozer Day, an event that benefits an organization to support a variety of children’s charities. We arrived early, thinking we knew what we were doing.

We did not.

There were approximately one half of one million people waiting at the gate under full sun. We joined them. Wowzers.

The whole point of this event is to allow children to ride on real life bulldozers, diggers and other gigantic construction equipment in a hot, dusty quarry located about twenty minutes from our house. The children are accompanied by professional operators of said equipment.

We waited in line for ONE ENTIRE HOUR in order for the oldest to ride on a huge digger. During the wait, we took turns chasing the youngest while he picked up rocks to throw into his plastic yellow hard hat and practice his escape skills. He’s really good.

My husband reminded me multiple times that the proceeds of this event went toward a children’s charity. It helped immensely that our kind and patient friend (and five year old son) joined us for the adventure.

Thank goodness, because I’m not going to do that again for at least five years.

The boys loved it, though. And it’s pretty cool to watch your kid operate a mighty machine more or less on his own.

Quotes of the day include:

Mama: “Hey, Miles, are you feeling happy?”

M: “I’m happy like a million times happy!”

Mama: I love you, Miles.

M: “Do you love me because I’m a dangerous ninja who has love in his heart?”

Mama: “Absolutely.”

Have a great week, readers!

read to be read at yeahwrite.me

5 thoughts on “Mighty machines

  1. Tricia says:

    “I’m happy like a million times happy” trumps everything else!

  2. Gretchen says:

    Nathan had the best time in his life…ever. Wish I could have been there to witness first hand, though the videos are pretty good! Let’s get together soon 🙂

  3. EllaDee says:

    What a great idea. My partner (the G.O.) works operating this type of equipment, & in the good old days could give a ride to a local kid or 2 who lived near the jobs but sadly no longer – not even his grand kids. Liability & insurance concerns killed that fun for both sides. Thank you for sharing – you never know when the concept will come in handy 🙂

  4. evafannon says:

    “I’m happy like a million times happy!” … I think that is my new favorite quote 🙂 Sounds to me like the long wait was worth it for that happiness alone! Thanks for sharing Sara. Miles gave me a great smile to start the week.

  5. risinghawk says:

    The Ninja quote is pretty awesome, too!

Leave a Reply

