Who Are You?

Who are you?

This question is prompt #1 of 14 days of the Scintilla Project. Scintilla means  a tiny trace or spark, and that’s what the prompts are… just starting  points or ending points, to spark a blog post.

My first reaction to this prompt was to scream and run away.

Hmmm. That’s interesting.

What could possibly be so bad about me that I would cringe at a three word prompt?

I could take the easy way out, and say I don’t really know, it’s uncomfortable to write about me, blah blah blah.

Or I could practice honesty.

This is a quality I’ve found to be somewhat old fashioned lately, and yet deeply appreciated by those who are either the receiver or the practitioner of the concept.

Deep breath (I am so fond of deep breaths). Tonight, I will write about what I am, instead of what I am not.

I am… a woman, not yet middle-aged (right? I’m only 38 so double that and …).

I am the eldest of three girls, youngest of none, and parented by two, together.

I am… a wife to a man I met at not quite age 25, unexpectedly, in a country foreign to my own. I am still in love. Despite, or due to, our history together.

I am… a mother, to two gorgeous, delightful and utterly maddening boys under the age of five.

I am… a public health professional… but I don’t work for government. Enough said.

I am… a grown-up child.

I am… still the person I was at age eleven who promised to become a writer when she grew up.

I am….a lover of sunflowers and calla lillies, wine, Mexican food, language and culture, backyard gardens, and reading day and night.

I am… a woman who loves running more than most anything, even when I’m not running (and lately, that’s the sad situation).

I am…a friend to many, and a deeply grateful friend of many.

I am… a lover of life, in the wake of tragedy, and a concubine of its unexpected joys, undesired sorrows, and its unparalleled truths.

2 thoughts on “Who Are You?

  1. InkyTwig says:

    “I am…still the person I was at age eleven who promised to become a writer when she grew up”
    And you are… This was a delightful look into you, thank you!

  2. Riayn says:

    Beautiful post. Lovely to meet you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

