Friendship, faded

Today’s post was inspired by a prompt to explore friendship by Write on Edge.

You were a rock star soccer player.  At ten and eleven and twelve years old, you were tough, smart and funny.

We had this coach who was also tough, smart and funny. He was full of compassion and encouragement as we practiced and played. We ran a lot. We had nicknames. We didn’t always win.

Off the field, we used to record ourselves talking and singing and being super silly and then pass back the cassette tapes back and forth, to listen to when we weren’t together. We laughed like crazy.

I remember playing soccer with big pillows in your bedroom in lieu of a real ball that wasn’t allowed indoors.

Do you remember?

You were the oldest of three, and so was I.

You loved music. I cringe when I admit that anytime I hear George Michael, I still think of you (isn’t that weird?).

We got a little older. You got tougher.

You stopped being so silly. I wondered why.

Our friendship was fading.

Your mom came over to talk to my mom the day you ran away. They asked me where you had gone.

I wondered if you were pregnant (you weren’t).

You came back.

Due to circumstances beyond our control, our friendship lost its luster.

We went to different high schools, anyway. Played on different teams.

Often I’m torn between what was and what could be.

I missed you for a long time.

Found the Marbles

27 thoughts on “Friendship, faded

  1. Gina says:

    I hate when things change and you don’t know why. The last sentence broke my heart! Touching!

  2. Eric Storch says:

    Isn’t it amazing how some relationships can have such a lasting effect on us?

  3. Janice says:

    Is it the loss of the friendship, or the remembrance of our own youth–that happy, carefree time that seems so idyllic now that we are looking back on it?

    Interesting question……but I do know I still think about the girl who was my best friend way back when.

    Great post.

  4. That was soooo sad. Being young is so hard. There are so many things that change as we grow older. There are so many things we have no control over. There are a couple of friendships I look back on and think I could have done this or that better. It must be tougher to not know for sure. How wonderful the memories you have are…what fun times! -LV

  5. Lenore Diane says:

    Nicely done! And you created this based on the music theme? This is excellent. Great story. I did not want it to end.

  6. Very poignant. Great post. I can identify with a lot of what you wrote about.

    (Visiting via WOE!)

  7. Awww 😦 I’m already sad for when my son loses his first best friend. We are about to be a retired military family (not moving anymore). So he will see friends come and go. I know this isn’t quite the same but that’s what it made me think of. Great response to the prompt.

  8. Awww! I hate “unfinished” relationships. I totally related to this, thanks for sharing!

  9. This is beautiful! Have you ever caught up with your friend on Facebook or anything to see what happened to her?

  10. Simply Sara says:

    This one’s a tear jerker…partly because I can relate…and partly because I know my daughter will experience this kind of loss someday too and that breaks my heart even more! Thanks for sharing.

  11. Awesome awesome post. I think we all have someone like that in our life; that lost friendship that started so close.

    Great job.

  12. Eloquently written. The innocence of youth somehow escaped your friend. It’s always a shame when that relationship ends.

  13. Beautifully written. Missing old friends is the thing I hate most about growing up.

  14. I wish so much we never lost friendships. It’s so hard to make new ones. I still wonder about some of my childhood friends.

  15. Abby says:

    Love this post, it’s beautifully done. I think it’s something everyone can relate to, whether it’s about a childhood friend or not. The loss of friendship leaves a permanent mark on your soul, and you captured this perfectly here.

  16. chosenchaosblog says:

    I have a friend like this and just recently we found each other on facebook, gotta love social media! It’s not the same and it never will be but having a peek into her life and her blessings gives me great joy.

  17. Growing apart from a close friend and not knowing why is always hard. I had a close friend for the first 3 years of high school and then we started to grow apart…it was really hard. I still don’t know what happened between us!

    You did a wonderful job capturing your friendship here. I felt how much fun you had and I also felt your loss.

Leave a Reply

