why I write

Today’s post was prompted by the question: Why do you write?

I write to express myself in a way that is both deeply intimate and radically public.

I write because that’s what I done since age 11. Those first years of journalling became an essential part of my adolescence and carried into my early twenties.

I write because I am compelled to document my observations, ordinary and unoriginal, so that they may one day become something extraordinary and authentic.

I write in order to fully explore those questions that are the most difficult to answer, and are perhaps unanswerable, but still I have to try.

I write because it’s simple. Away from my computer, I scratch out thoughts on napkins, receipts and old grocery lists that remain crumpled in my purse.

I write because it’s complicated. Language itself is a puzzle to me. I am bilingual, and yet not naturally gifted at putting thoughts down on paper.

I write because I read. I crave words that are spicy, romantic, influential, heartbreaking and funny. I find them in books and by listening to others. And on occasion, I find them in what I have written… in this blog, in my journal or in a letter.

I write to inspire.

I write to lift up my soul.

I write to simply be.

I write just because.

a mom blog community

Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers. — Isaac Asimov

One thought on “why I write

  1. […] why I write (sunshineandsalad.com) […]

Leave a Reply

