Family influence

When I was quite young one of my aunts knew me almost as well as my mom knew me. Together we celebrated birthdays, holidays, school events and soccer games. She gave me books to read and let me spend the night in her apartment. She made the best chocolate cookie bars I’ve ever had and brought them in big Tupperware containers to share at our 4th of July picnics. Every summer she watched my sisters and I play for hours on the beach and in the water.

Through the years, my aunt continued to give me books and we talked about all sorts of things. I remember laughing together. As a teenager, I always felt listened to when I spoke to her. More than listened to. I felt truly heard.

Having a trusted adult in one’s life other than one’s parents is so important. I was fortunate because I had many.

In my early twenties, I thought a lot about what I wanted to do with my life. My aunt was the first woman whose career I recall observing in the making. Without revealing who she is, I can tell you that she is smart, successful, and forward thinking. She contributes to her community in a very meaningful way. From my perspective, her job is interesting, engaging and valuable. And I know she works very, very hard. In watching my aunt, I learned that a woman can accomplish whatever it is she resolves to accomplish – for her, it seemed to me, even the sky wasn’t the limit. And as I set out to begin my life professionally, her influence was profound.

Today, I don’t see or hear from my aunt very often, and we live 3,000 miles apart. But she is always in my heart, and I trust that I am in hers.

Today’s post was encouraged by BEEBeautifulYou, a tribute to a beautiful woman whose life inspires my own. Thank you, Aunt. You have given me so much.

Who inspires you? Who inspired you as a child?
BEE Beautiful You
and linking up with Thoughtful Thursday, too!
Found the Marbles

8 thoughts on “Family influence

  1. Tania Harbourt says:

    Great post Sara! Wonderful tribute to your aunt, who I think I even thought was my aunt when I was growing up with you. 🙂

  2. Bruna says:

    How sweet to have an aunt you felt connected and close to. I wish I had that. Your aunt sounds like a wonderful woman and appears to have been a great role model for you.

    I love hearing stories about family:)

  3. Great post!! It is important to have someone in your life that inspires you to be the best you can be. You were lucky to have an amazing women such as your Aunt in your life…Some children aren’t s lucky and end up with a negative role model as opposed to a positive one. You have a great blog, I found you through Bloggy Moms Blog Hop:) I am now Following you and I would love for you to visit me and Follow back! Find me at:

    http://www.twotinytyrants.blogspot.com/

    Have a fantastic day!!

  4. I have an amazing aunt too. She’s 80 now, but has been like a second mom to me forever. Sadly, Mom passed away a few years ago, but my aunt is still here, still making me laugh, and still precious. I might just embarrass her by blogging her up soon!

    http://saveeverystep.wordpress.com – family stories past and present blog
    http://www.saveeverystep.com – preserve your family memories on a chronological timeline, free

  5. Courtney says:

    It is incredibly important to have other close adults in your life besides your parents. My mom passed when I was young, I was fortunate enough to have a few close relatives step in and be my rocks. It didn’t fix it of course, but it made all the difference.

  6. Kim says:

    That is great that you had such a great bond with your Aunt. For me, it is and still is my Grandma. Love her. I enjoyed reading your blog and liked you on fb. Found you on the blog hop. Stop on by when you get a chance 🙂 http://bbunchmama.blogspot.com/ -Kim

    • skpadilla says:

      Thank you for your comment! I just visited your site and read about your son and apraxia. I was unfamiliar with this condition and you sound like a wonderful mom. Wishing you and your lovely family all the best!

Leave a Reply

