#Resound11: Elevator Speech

Today’s prompt: If you had 30-90 seconds to describe yourself (give an elevator speech), how would you sum up who you are?

I was considering how to answer this question while still in bed, contemplating how morning could be so dark, and not quite sure what I would say. My bio can be read in less than a minute, but I’d rather not describe myself in strictly professional terms. Looking into the mirror holding a crying child this morning didn’t provide much inspiration, either. Ugh. I resolved to answer the question later.

When I got to work, I opened a message my husband sent me last night. It’s an ad for Nike and you can watch it by clicking here.

Unfortunately, this ad doesn’t sum up who I am – not yet and not exactly. The girl in the ad is a smoother, less stressed out, more in shape version of me. I like her. She’s on that kind of run when nothing ruffles you, not an unexpected hill or a pothole or a headwind. Sometimes, when I’m running in the neighborhood, a car pulls over to ask for directions. This used to really bug me, because I had to stop running and give them some information, which was usually something breathlessly said like “drive a mile and take a left!” or more typically, “sorry, don’t know!”  The interruption didn’t bother me so much because of lost time; I don’t run to break any records. It’s just it felt like a violation of my quiet alone time.

These days, if interrupted on a run, I realize I don’t mind so much. Really, it’s not such a big deal to take a quick break to help out (even if it’s a “sorry, don’t know!” type of help). I’m not sure when these breaks stopped bothering me, but I’m glad they did. They make me feel a bit closer to the image of the woman in the Nike ad. Less bothered. More peaceful. Able to cope with the unexpected.

This morning, my kids were a wreck, one while at home and the other at school. We experienced Tears. Sadness. Separation. Changes in routine are evidently a cause for high drama. “What’s the big deal?” my husband questioned. What is the big deal, indeed. A new blanket aka the “wrong” blanket was one source of the problem. Arriving a half hour late and missing inside free play was another. For a four year old, such change is difficult.

Four plus thirty-three years later, I’m only beginning to learn to cope more effectively with change and the unknown that is the shadow of change, creeping, a little vague, and a little scary.

So I give my kids a break when change ruffles their feathers. Tonight I’ll slow down to answer their questions, and really listen to their concerns. Never mind one kid doesn’t have many words. In some ways he’s a more effective communicator than his big brother. I’ll try what works for me when I get worked up – breathing, and running, and more breathing.

So after considering the morning, and today’s #Resound11 prompt, I believe I can sum me up in a minute, but I don’t think I’ll write it down here. Let’s just say I’m working toward my own version of the girl in the ad.

3 thoughts on “#Resound11: Elevator Speech

  1. Mom says:

    Wonderful article.!! Loved it.

  2. Sara, I really enjoyed reading your story. It was quite moving, especially after re-reading what you submitted to me for the “My Gutsy Story” contest, which I just reread. I was hoping to see a quick elevator pitch at the bottom, even though I understood what you meant.

  3. I love that you won’t let your kids ruffle your feathers when you know they’re just young and reacting to change they weren’t ready for!

    Thanks for linking up with JBE!

Leave a Reply

