#Reverb11 Gratitude

What five things are you most grateful for from 2011?

MY FAMILY

My husband and boys are energetic and loving, funny and inspiring. They warm my heart and hold my hands.

They challenge me: Yesterday Miles asked me if we could celebrate Hanukkah and Christmas.

And they make me laugh: this morning, my eldest son arrived at preschool and announced: “Mama, you forgot to give me any underwear so I’ve got nothing under my pants!

I am grateful for my children.

MY HEALTH

In early January 2011, I drove myself to the ER after midnight with acute abdominal pain. After 24 + hours of testing and observation, and a misdiagnosis of appendicitis, I went home with a handful of prescriptions and no answer for what I had experienced. Fortunately, I did not suffer another attack of the mystery ailment.

I am grateful for my health and wellbeing. 

OUR DOG

His unwavering love for us resonates even on those days when he is ignored, pushed aside, or scolded. He was our first baby, and since human boys # 1 and # 2 were born, his place in the household hierarchy has dramatically declined (and he knows it). Even so, he remains a sweet and steady presence in our home.

MY MIND

I’m forgetful and scatterbrained at times and I can’t remember how to get somewhere until I’ve driven there at least a dozen times, but I’m grateful to the ability to capture thoughts and ideas on paper, and for the joy that writing brings.

MY JOB

It’s challenging, interesting and unthreatening. Unlike other places I’ve worked before, I am surrounded by like-minded, hard-working, intelligent and fun people. We’re doing real things to help real people eat better, and live better. I am grateful to be employed.

Prompted by Reverb11

3 thoughts on “#Reverb11 Gratitude

  1. Luscious gratitude list. As I comment here my dog is lying on a comforter I put on the floor for her. After my beloved last dog died, she has been another fine companion for me. I am blessed as a mother to dogs, cats and stunningly wonderful humans. Your post reminded me, once again!

    THANK YOU! Glad I found you via #reverb11~

  2. Becky B says:

    I love your list. “They warm my heart and hold my hands.”–brought a tear to my eye.

    I’m glad that scary episode with your health was just an episode, too. And that your dog is such an understanding sweetheart!

    “We’re doing real things to help real people eat better.”–working at a place like that really does make a huge difference in your life, doesn’t it.

    And I love the gentle snowflakes. 🙂

  3. beckybreitmaier says:

    This post in particular makes me smile. And it makes me think what my top five are as well. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

