Stop! Don’t touch that dial.

I’m listening to Easy Listening on the radio these days.

Oh dear. Has it really come to this? I’m not even 40!

You bet it has. Easy Listening on Portland’s Charlie FM 97.1  is playing nothing but holiday music until the end of the calendar year. So for the next 30 days, I’ll say goodbye to NPR.  I’ll miss you, but I cannot change the station.

According to Wikepedia, Easy Listening is sometimes defined as Lounge music, beautiful music, and the unfortunate terms Muzak and elevator music.

And I agree. Some holiday music is bad. REALLY bad.

Exhibit A: Let It Snow by Kenny G

Exhibits B, C, and D:

  • Winter Wonderland by Stryper
  • Christmas time with the Brady Bunch
  • The entire Christmas albumby the New Kids on the Block

Just to name a few.

My four year old pleads from the back seat, “Mama, can we please, please, please listen to Pearl Jam now?”

But I cannot stop listening. It’s a seasonal addiction.

When my husband starts the car, and the Easy Listening station comes on, he winces, and glances at me. Painfully.

“What is this?”

A moment later, we’re back to normal music . Quality tunes that entertain, energize, or soothe, depending on the time of day. I don’t generally push back when he changes the station from Easy Listening – after all, he owns half the car. But when it’s just me, it’s Easy Listening holiday music all the way home.

I know my kids will punish me for this one day when they take the wheel.

But till then, I cannot change the station. I wait patiently for the good stuff (at least I think it’s the good stuff).

Bring it on, Bing Crosby. Burl Ives. Frank Sinatra. Nat King Cole. The Vince Guaraldi Trio. And for goodness sake, let’s hear a little Feliz Navidad by Jose Feliciano.

See? There is good holiday music!

Now if they’d only play it on the radio.

4 thoughts on “Stop! Don’t touch that dial.

  1. I am totally with you on listening to Christmas music!!!!!!

  2. Mary Kate says:

    i’m with you, sara. and i’d add “last christmas” (George Michael) and “all i want for christmas is you” (yes, Mariah Carey!) to the awesomeness list. what are your thoughts on all the chipmunk xmas songs? for me, they bring back childhood memories, but at the same time, are SO cheesy!

  3. […] Stop! Don’t touch that dial. (sunshineandsalad.com) […]

Leave a Reply

