Balance

In no particular order, here are some of the things going on in my life right now: a looming very important grant deadline, a recent family “vacation” to a different time zone, major and unexpected staffing changes at my organization, the preschool field trip that I couldn’t attend because of said grant deadline and staffing changes, our youngest child is still not sleeping through the night, and last but certainly not least, my normally vibrant and vigorous father has been in and out of the hospital for the past three weeks to treat an undiagnosed condition involving pain and fatigue, and one of the rainiest summers on record.

Whew. So much for my July goal of weekly practice and achieving Balance.  What is balance anyway? The Free Dictionary defines it this way: A state of equilibrium or parity characterized by cancellation of all forces by equal opposing forces.

This is my personal definition: A state of positive and powerful physiological and psychological well being that involves movement, space for reflection, connectedness to loved ones and satisfying external forces (i.e. job, friendships, weather).

Do I have Balance right now?

Um, no.

I’m sad about stuff going on at work. I’m tired. I’m under exercised (though my trip back east did include a super hot, humid, hilly 9K run with a close friend, which was wonderful). I’m worried. I’m surprised, and not in a good way, about how things are unfolding at the office.

So what do you do when one is over (or under) whelmed? As I struggle to see the bright side right now, I’m looking forward to the weekend. I took my vitamins today (Vitamin B Complex, fish oil, and calcium supplements). And it’s entirely possible that the sun might actually shine for two consecutive days in Portland, which means fun visits to fountains and parks. I’m fairly sure that my youngest son will sleep through the night some day, even if it takes two years like it did for my oldest son. Two days ago I signed up in the middle of my workday to run a half marathon in December… it gave me a spark that says “Christmas in July!” It’s a little bit too far off to make me 100% committed to training, but at least it’s on the calendar.

These are steps, or at least thoughts, that I can take to make life more manageable abd less stressful, more hopeful and less sad. And since life is really about relationships, then I can focus on those close to me who offer love, support, respect, and understanding. Among them I recognize family members, old friends and relatively new ones… for them, I am grateful.

I may not have optimal balance right now, but I haven’t fallen off the tightrope yet. Stay tuned. And check out our eldest, practicing his own balance via Tree Pose, below.

Leave a Reply

