Hello world!

I can’t believe I’m jumping on the blog bandwagon. But here I go! I love to write, and I find that I have very little time to explore and express myself in a creative venue. In fact, I have very little time to do anything! That said, I follow a number of blogs on a semi-regular basis and enjoy their open and straightforward format. My plan is to reach out to family, friends and strangers through this forum to stretch my creative side through words and dialogue. I’m thrilled you may join me for the journey that begins today.

Allow me to briefly return to my claim of having no time to get anything done. You may be thinking, that cannot possibly be true. We all get the same 24 hours in a day and we choose to be productive, slothful, or something in the middle. Or you may be thinking, hey, I totally relate to that sentiment! I, too, am way too busy and feel like I never get anything DONE.

Having children certainly makes it feel that way much of the time. Our boys are ages four and one. They rarely sit down and they are attracted to danger. I’m not kidding — no matter how often we place the fireplace tools, corkscrew, and random choking hazards out of reach, they find something equally compellingly scary to play with before their mean Mama takes it away. Because of the boys, I start many household projects and they sit, incomplete, for a day or two, which is a source of frustration not only to me but to other members (ahem, my husband) of the household. But nowhere in all the prenatal, infant and early childhood literature that I eagerly consumed prior to and during my first pregnancy did I read: Be prepared, for you are entering the busiest time of your life, and it will last forever, and you will never be organized again! I was educated but I was naive. As a teenager, I frequently cared for children ages 1 – 10, but I waved merrily goodbye to the tikes moments after their parents came home, and got to sleep uninterrupted, or go out with friends. I cared for these children in daylight hours, thereby critically avoiding the 3 and 4 and 5 am wake up calls. Lest I bore my readers to tears, I will refrain from the topic of sleep (deprivation) from here on out. But if you really want to talk about it, give me a call and I will happily empathize with you, sleepless readers. As my husband will attest, it is one of my favorite topics. I should start a Sleepless Anonymous group. One positive step I’ve taken to cure me of my sleep deprivation obsession is to STOP reading the sleep books. The experts have never met my children!

This first post has been rather random, but for each of my posts, I am going to attempt to set a specific goal – be it small or ambitious. I like deadlines and I like goals. I tend to accomplish more when I have a goal (or an event) marked on the calendar. For today, my goal is twofold: to enjoy more movement, and focus on the breath. I will do as I tell my four-year-old when he’s gearing up for a meltdown: take a deep breath. I’ll lace up my running shoes – no excuses. By taking 30 minutes (or even better, an hour) to call my own, I find that I actually have more time in the day to do all of those other things that make a good day even better: work, smile, laugh and play, even and especially while washing the dishes, the dog, the clothes or the children.

Have a great day.

10 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. luluface says:

    Awesome that you are writing! I just edited something I had written a long time ago and sent it to a friend to read. Just read, like a gift. You have to start somewhere, right? Here’s to future novels, articles, and books!

  3. MK says:

    hooray! thanks for sharing, sp! i generally am NOT good at putting my thoughts into words, so i appreciate those that can and look forward to connecting 🙂

  4. Bree says:

    way to go!

  5. […] I planted and grew in 2011 is this very blog (started June 2011 – read my very first post here). I have discovered a whole world of writers and bloggers, men and women, parents, professionals, […]

  6. […] that I planted and grew in 2011 is this very blog (started June 2011 – read my very first post here). I have discovered a whole world of writers and bloggers, men and women, parents, professionals, […]

  7. […] Impulsively, I set up a WordPress account, and just a few minutes later, I hit send to announce my new project to everyone I could think of (except, perhaps, my co-workers). I didn’t have clear […]

  8. […] Impulsively, I set up aWordPress account, and just a few minutes later, I hit send to announce my new project to everyone I could think of (except, perhaps, my co-workers). I didn’t have clear expectations […]

  9. […] had a good time writing this blog during the past 12 months. My first post opened up a world of unexpected authenticity and an intoxicating community of others who […]

  10. […] had a good time writing this blog during the past 12 months. My first post opened up a world of unexpected authenticity and an intoxicating community of others who […]

Leave a Reply

